Shovel

Holes by Louis Sachar may be the best story you haven’t read.  It is unlike any story I have read before or since.  It is original, creative.  I loved it.  But I almost missed it.

I was helping at an elementary school library at the time and this book would not stay on the shelf.  Yet, I put off reading it for a while, mistakenly thinking it was about space travel or the moon based on the cover art at that time.  Sci-fi is interesting, but has never been my favorite.  I finally gave in to my curiosity.

If you have seen the movie but have not read the book – I am sorry.  For, in spite of brilliant casting and best efforts, the book is (as the book always is) much better.  Read the book.

If you haven’t seen the movie – don’t.  Not until you read the book.

There is no lake at Camp Green Lake.

It is the strange story of the interconnected lives of two boys who meet at a unique juvenile detention facility.  Sounds delightful, I know.  You have no idea.  And that’s all I’m going to say about it, so you have to read it to fill in the blanks.  You can thank me later.

You might consider reading it aloud with your family.  Or listening to an audio version.  Yet you may want to read it alone, slowly, because when you are done, it will be over.

But you will be glad you didn’t miss it.

When you spend your whole life living in a hole, the only way you can go is up.

 

Copyright © Gienah Beaty, bookshelfbriefs.wordpress.com, 2016.  All rights reserved.  (Public Domain image courtesy of pixabay.com)

