Bookshelves

(FYI: This is my very first post.)

I have just returned to the U.S. following two years of living overseas (a story for another day).  I am about to begin graduate school to become an elementary school librarian.  As I am impatiently waiting for my coursework to begin this fall, I am reading all kinds of books.

Now that I am back in the U.S., I have access to wonderful public libraries.  And my own bookshelves bulge with books I have not read yet.  Plus, my husband has all kinds of business books I have never touched.  Should I read those?

Given my current path, the logical place to start seemed to be with the Caldecott and Newbery award-winning books for children and young adults.  There are 172 of them.  And those are just the winners!  I have read many of them in the past, but even some of those were read ages ago.  So I have begun, and I have already read more than half of them.  It’s like eating candy!

As I have been reading, I have had a growing desire to share about what I am reading with anyone who has interest, as well as to record my thoughts for myself.  So this is my canvas.  I hope to paint treasure maps that lead you into the delights of children’s and young adult books and beyond.

Stay tuned.  For today I will simply share a quote.  A good quote.

The more that you read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn, the more places you’ll go. – Dr. Seuss

Until next time.  Back to my books.

 

 

 

(Image courtesy of freewallpaperfullhd.com)

